Groundbog Day

It’s been 88 days since Leopards lost at Worthing, and I lost the ability to drink red wine. Since then we’ve signed Asante, who has seriously helped turn the season around, signed and lost both KJ and Dion (the work I’ve put in and the money we’ve spent for virtually no benefit is heartbreaking), found a German, exited both knockout competitions but come a long way towards sealing a place in D1 next season.

It’s also been 88 days since I last had a properly working – and non leaking – toilet in my bathroom. On that fateful morning in mid-November I didn’t think that three months later I’d be waiting for the seventh different Dynorod plumber to mend my bog, I’d be waiting for the second paint job on the kitchen ceiling and we’d need a new floor in the bathroom.

And a week ago when I called a British Gas (who own Dynorod) out to mend my boiler that I’d still be waiting for my central heating to work properly. But I’m clearly a fool. Sometimes running a basketball club is actually easier than living real life.

Leave a comment