A bit surprising

I doubt anyone who went through the lunacy that was the Aspire South Super-Region will ever forget it. We’re not allowed to discuss it, presumably to protect the guilty – because the innocent don’t need protecting. And we were never told what action was taken against them. So the suspicion will always be that it’s all been conveniently forgotten.

Among the little information we got was that South programme leader (or whatever his title was) Matt Harber was moving on. I didn’t blame Matt for what happened. While he could undoubtedly have done better, he didn’t actually cause the second day’s games to be cancelled.

When I saw his name down as University of East Anglia’s D3 coach in the handbook, I thought that was a bit of a step down. Until he was named as an assistant coach for Riders’ BBL team. That’s a nice step up, he becomes one of the few people to have coached in both the BBL and WBBL.

But here’s the odd thing.

He’s now called Matt Pitkin.

Clearly the trauma of that weekend Manchester – and he avoided that pub – was just too much for him. He’s changed his identity in an effort to put it behind him. I get that.

I now have to decide what my new identity will be. Any suggestions?

Leave a comment