Back home

Admit it, you didn’t even know what I’d been away for the last fortnight. Laying in the Turkish sun, apart from the one-day boat trip, without a care in the world but still finding time for a quick rant each day. I always figured that I’d miss a day and then post a picture of where we were with the highly original headline “life’s a beach”. But that never happened, I even managed an article about Ennis Kanter without being slung in a Turkish jail. The streak goes on, it’s day 246.

Obviously I didn’t get away from basketball. The days of getting the fixtures in early May (Nicky used to send them on the Friday before the first bank holiday and cunningly clear off on holiday) are long gone. They now arrive just as the schools break up, so we all spend hours chasing people who are on holiday. It’s not great, and beginning to wonder if I’ll ever get it done.

But it was good to (almost) have a couple of weeks and the Turkish National Day celebrations were a good way to finish yesterday. Now it’s back to basketball.

Leave a comment