Blast from the past

Every now and again something happens to make me remember Leopards. This time 20 years ago we were in the process of buying Ware Rebels and crowds at Wodson Park swelling as our core fanbase realised they had a new club.
So I smiled and remembered the good times when I got this email on Wednesday.
Jon was fairly mortified he’d turned back four years, but I liked it.
But we’re Wolves now. I work for Oaklands, Caitlin spends a massive amount of time there despite being at school 20 minutes walk away. When his ankles let him, Alex is training once a week with both the U-14s and U-15s as well as captaining the U-13s. I did give Tracy a Sunday off in January, but generally she lives there at weekends and is Team Manager of the U-13s. We’re Wolves now.
The team sitting bottom of D2 aren’t Leopards. There’s an old Leopards kit sitting in the cupboard at Oaklands for emergencies. I did think of a retro night, but remain undecided. The official history says otherwise (though plenty of sports clubs have rewritten history) but really it was a new beginning in the summer of 2020, so while I do miss Leopards, it’s time to move on.

Leave a comment