Things that make me happy

I drive a lot On a day when I go to work and then go to Oaklands, I do 99.2 miles. Because of this – well this is my claim, anyway  drive fast. Somehow I’ve managed only three speeding tickets in 36 years of driving, and never had had an accident, so I reckon I pay attention..
But my root to the school that shall forever remain secret due to me having a stalker (something BE are quite happy about) doesn’t have much in the way of overtaking opportunities, so I’ve also become patient. and console myself with the fact that the fancy computer in my “new” car tells me I’m getting better miles to the gallon than when I bomb over to Oaklands. So on Friday when I’d just left work and put up with getting stuck behind someone going slow, I was pissed off when someone overtook me as I accelerated when the slow-coach had turned left. This may sound a bit control freaky but no one needs to overtake me, I go more than fast enough. Even when I had Little Blue Car, there wasn’t any need unless we were on a motorway. And it was clearly dangerous, so I hooted and gave him the finger. It was then I noticed the unmarked police car behind me had put it’s blues on, I pulled over to let him past and he promptly brought the miscreant to a stop. It was bloody lovely. I was grinning as I gave the prick the finger. I was still grinning when I got to Oaklands. In fact I’m grinning as write this. People aren’t used to seeing me grin .
Speaking of Little Blue Car, the Citroen that made a million trips to Oaklands, I saw him yesterday. Obviously I was on the way home Oaklands having dropped Cait off at her other home. And I did wonder if the car has a mind of its own and forces its new owner to drive from Stortford-St Albans. I reckon I was on autopilot half of the the time. Especially the day I did it three times. It was nice to see him again, we had some crazy times.
And speaking of crazy times, Bromley got promoted to the Football League. This has nothing to do with basketball except for Tall Mike. We call him Tall Mike because he’s tall and his name’s Mike, but when I first started watching Leopards there was a guy I vaguely knew from Stortford v Bromley games in the Isthmian League. We became good friends, he was one of the people who refused to let Leopards die and one who readily accepted starting in D1 because we simply weren’t in a position to (re)enter the BBL. When they won Conference South nine year ago we had the discussion that, even if it meant missing a few more Leopards games than usual, he was going to live the dream. I doubt he ever dreamed they’d be in the Football League.
So I’m happy. What could possibly go wrong?

Leave a comment